Review of Vega Protein+ Snack Bar Chocolate Peanut Butter flavored

I’m on a big no dairy/meat/eggs kick due to watching way too many documentaries involving conventional farming/ranching.  So, when I received a sample of this bar I was super excited.  The package claims “contains 11% more of the daily value for protein than Vega Snack Bar”.  Considering this bar has 11g (14% DV)  and the Snack Bar has 5g (3%).

I probably should have read the ingredients before I ate it, but that’s ok…too late now.  There are quite a bit of ingredients in the bar which are listed below.

“PROTEIN BLEND (PEA PROTEIN, BROWN RICE PROTEIN), ORGANIC BROWN RICE SYRUP, DARK CHOCOLATE (ORGANIC SUGAR, PALM KERNEL OIL, CHOCOLATE LIQUOR, COCOA POWDER, COCOA POWDER (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), SUNFLOWER LECITHIN, NATURAL FLAVOR), ORGANIC TAPIOCA SYRUP, ALMONDS, ALMOND BUTTER, INULIN (FROM CHICORY ROOT), RICE STARCH, ORGANIC DATE PASTE, ORGANIC AGAVE SYRUP, VEGA SAVISEED (SACHA INCHI) OIL, CARROT JUICE POWDER, ORGANIC BUCKWHEAT, ORGANIC ALFALFA SPROUTS, NATURAL FLAVOR, BROWN RICE CRISPS, QUINOA SPROUTS, CHIA SEEDS, HEMP SEEDS, SEA SALT, MARINE ALGAE CALCIUM, ORGANIC ALFALFA GRASS, ACEROLA CHERRY EXTRACT, KALE, PALMYRA SUGAR, SUNFLOWER SEED OIL POWDER, DRIED FRUIT AND VEGETABLE BLEND (SPINACH, BROCCOLI, CARROT, BEET, TOMATO, APPLE, CRANBERRY, ORANGE PEEL, BLUEBERRY, STRAWBERRY), ORGANIC VANILLA EXTRACT, MUSHROOM EXTRACT, NIACINAMIDE [VITAMIN B3], PANTOTHENIC ACID [VITAMIN B5], PYRIDOXINE [VITAMIN B6], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], THIAMIN [VITAMIN B1], BIOTIN [VITAMIN B7], FOLATE [VITAMIN B9], PHYTOMENADIONE [VITAMIN K].”

The second ingredient is sugar, but it does contain chocolate so I’m not extremely surprised.  I do appreciate that there are no artificial sweeteners in this bar as they tend to leave a bad aftertaste in my mouth.

On the plus side, I really enjoyed the peanut taste along with the crunch.  It reminded me of eating Spanish peanuts or home made peanut brittle.  It contains unsaturated fats, potassium, vitamins A, C, D, K, B6, B12, calcium, iron, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, folate, biotin, pantothenic acid, and phosphorus. If you have Celiac’s disease this would be an appropriate bar because it doesn’t contain gluten. It does contain dark chocolate so it’s a tad bit better for you than milk chocolate due to the extra antioxidants.  I’d like to think that I’m doing my body a little good by eating this versus a milk chocolate bar.

It’s a bit chewy but not annoyingly so.  The protein to carbohydrate ratio isn’t perfect for a post workout snack, but it would work if I added a small fruit.

Not a bad bar, a tad bit on the pricey side at $6.99 for a pack of four on their website (myvega.com).  If these are on sale at my local store I’ll probably pick up a few to have on hand.  What do you think?

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Food, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

