Quest Bar Cinnamon Roll review

I’ll have to admit, I was super excited to try this bar because I love cinnamon rolls and I need extra protein in my diet.  At only 110 calories, 4.5g fat, 7g fiber and 12g protein per bar it sounds awesome right?  Fairly low in calories and is equivalent to a banana this can be a great snack to add to your diet.  This bar also offers fiber which I love!  Fiber is great for your cholesterol, bowel movements, and helps with satiety.  Eating one of these bars will provide about 30% of your daily fiber intake (25-35g/day RDI), which is pretty easy to consume.  I really enjoy the protein aspect of this well.  Many bars that I’ve tried either have fiber or have protein, but many don’t have both.  There are various protein recommendations but I try to stay around 0.8-1.2g/kg body weight.  You could also base your protein intake off your calories consumed and shoot for 20% of calories (you can go a bit lower or higher if you choose, but I like 20%).  If I consumed 1500 calories/day I should aim for 75g/day.

 

Well, even though there are positives to this bar I really didn’t like it.  You can taste the sucralose (Splenda) and it leaves a less than desirable aftertaste in your mouth.  It also feels a little grainy and isn’t pleasing to consume.  At roughly  $2 per bar it’s a little pricey for me.

If you don’t mind any of the above negatives (grainy texture, artificial aftertaste, and pricey) eat up!  If you’re like me and still on the hunt…I’ll provide more reviews on bars that I actually enjoyed even though they were a bit higher in calories.

 

If you’re interested in purchasing, you can go to http://www.questnutrition.com/beyond-cereal-bars/beyond-cinnamon-cereal-bar/, amazon, or your local supermarket.

 

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Food, Healthy eating, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

