Review of MyoPlex Pre-Workout

One of the added benefits of AmazonPrime is to order sample boxes for a fee and then receive credit for the same amount when you order certain products.  Naturally I ordered samples right away because I love trying new things.  Two of the items that were sent in my box was MyoPlex Pre-Workout mixes (one lemonberry and one blood orange).   I’ve been looking for a pre-work to use in the morning to give me an extra boost without the added calories from my coffee creamer.  I know the perfect answer would be to drink black coffee but that’s not happening.  So, I set out to try a few things.  I mixed the lemonberry mix with 12 oz of water (even though it says 4-6 oz because I find they are always too strong for me) and OMG it isn’t tasty.  It mixed fairly well in my blender bottle but it tastes thick and bitter…kind of like the bitterness you might experience with accidentally eating a bit of orange rind or licking the adhesive on an envelope.  I know…appetizing, right?  You can also taste the supplements that have been added so you get the aftertaste of chalkiness.  I tried adding more water to it but no change!  On the plus side, it is a very beautiful cherry/redish-purple color…probably from the beets extract?  I wonder if I can talk the hubby into drinking it.  From a nutritional standpoint the supplements appear to be ok…a bit high on caffeine (300mg per serving) so if you’re sensitive to caffeine this may not be the product to you.  Generally I don’t recommend my patients consume anymore than 400-600mg caffeine per day.

 

Bottom line:  if you don’t care about taste and/or like bitter chalky drinks this might work for you!

Link to website for purchase if you choose to do so:

https://www.bodybuilding.com/store/eas/myoplex-pre-workout.html

 

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Fitness, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

