The road to veganism

im not a huge fan of meat even though it offers a plethora of vitamins and minerals that are good for our bodies. You can get most everything from plants. 

Our little guy is now 8 months and my husband wasn’t very happy that I didn’t want to eat meat during the pregnancy. So, we compromised and I ate meat once a day. I’ve done this throughout the pregnancy and the duration of my breastfeeding which is still going. I’m happy with my decision and plan to go vegetarian and eventually vegan. Although the hubby isn’t happy with it he’s supportive. He and my kiddos still eat meat daily and that’s ok with me. It’s their decision. My 4.5 year old asked why we have to kill animals to eat yesterday and I took the opportunity to talk about different diets and how we can choose to eat meat or choose not to. He knows where his food comes from and I’m happy. 

My dinner today consisted of a hummus, grilled pineapple, and kale sandwich while the kiddos and hubby had BBQ beef and pork.  

 
The kids may see the hubby’s meaty diet and follow, but they also see mine full of vegetables!

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Healthy eating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

