Spaghetti squash 

I’m always trying something new and I’m a huge fan of spaghetti squash. I usually throw a bit of pepper jack and some pepper but I have been adventurous this week. 

I cooked up the spaghetti squash ( cut in half, scoop out the seeds, and place upside down in pan with water and cook in microwave for 20 minutes).  Afterward use a fork to break up the squash and set aside. 

In a skillet sauté onions and garlic, throw in cooked turkey sausage and spinach, and lastly add squash.  Add pepper to taste if you wish. 

I like to add the cheese at the end so it doesn’t burn or make the skillet messy. This time I used 2% milk fat cheddar because we were out of pepper jack.  

 This was absolutely delicious! 

I didn’t include specific measurements for this recipe because all squashes are different sizes and I tend to put more onions and garlic than the average person, but experiment with it to make it your favorite. 

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

