Saturated fat???

This topic has been popular here at work lately where I’ve soon tins of patients with elevated lipids. Combine that with the coconut oil fad right now and people are confused. To cut or not cut saturated fat?

I ran across the article on Runners World and I think it contains some good information.

Yes diets high in saturated fat can lead to a variety of health issues, but you don’t need to completely eliminate them; just cut back. If you currently consume 4 slices of bacon daily, cut it in half. If you put butter on everything just reduce the amount or switch to a heart healthy oil such as olive oil. If you’re already consuming olive oil I would switch to coconut oil as it can lead to increased good and bad cholesterol.

So what’s the bottom line that I recommend…MODERATION!

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Healthy eating and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

