BioRhythm After Glow

One of my friends works at GNC and was raving about After Glow so I thought I’d give it a try. It’s a bit pricey, I bought 2 pounds on sale for $40, but I don’t think it’s a waste of money.

20120714-100139.jpg

20120714-100152.jpg
As you can see from the above picture, I purchased the watermelon flavor and it’s quite tasty. The container is a bit over half full so I was shocked when I peeled the protective seal off. However, it has lasted me a while because I don’t mix it as strong as the store associate suggested. Per the label I should mix one scoop (because I’m under 140 lbs) with 12-16 ounces of water. I like mixing it as the label instructs rather than the 2 scoops per 12 ounces the associate suggested. It is very sweet and not at all chalky. Per the label it contains over 10 grams glutamine and BCAAs.
So, why did I start taking this recovery drink after my workouts? Well, my knees were getting a bit creaky. Call it old age or just the woes of high intensity exercise, either way it was uncomfortable. Since consuming After Glow, the soreness is no longer present. I’ve even felt energized after my workout to add another run or exercise class later in the day. Not bad at all!!! I will admit that one day last week I was worn out. I’m not certain if it was too much intensity in a short amount of time or just lack of sleep because of a teething infant. Either way, I took a day off to rest and am back to normal.
After this container of After Glow is consumed I’ll purchase another, but I might try a different flavor. I have heard the cherry is quite tasty!

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Fitness, reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

