PowerBar energy blasts

I’m digging my PowerBar products if you couldn’t tell. 🙂
I’ve actually had these energy blasts before and although they wouldn’t be a go to snack, they can be incorporated into a fitness plan.

20120703-154813.jpg
PowerBar recommends consuming these 30-60 minutes before exercise or during (when over 60 minutes of continuous exercise). This particular flavor is cola which contains caffeine, roughly 50 mg for 6 pieces and the whole pouch contains about 75 mg. there are flavors that don’t contain caffeine.

20120703-155208.jpg
The consistency of this energy blast is like that of a gummy bear. The package shows that there is liquid inside, but it’s misleading in my opinion. When you bite into this blast you don’t feel a liquid, but the gumminess continues. The cola flavor doesn’t taste exactly like cola to me, but others disagree and have said that it’s right on. I can taste chemicals when consuming this blast and it tastes a bit artificial to me. It’s not bad, just not what I expect.
The packaging is nice because there is a piece of tape that you can use to close the package if you don’t consume all the pieces at once. It also travels well in a cooler and I think it actually tastes better when cold.
Has anybody else tried these energy blasts? What do you think?

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

