Flaxy oatmeal

I switched it up this morning and instead of peanut butter going in my oatmeal I added flaxseed (ground of course because it makes it more easily absorbed in the body).

20120619-185208.jpg
Flaxseed can be healthy but too much can me a little upsetting for the tummy. Too much can cause numerous issues, one of them being GI distress. I wrote my research paper during my undergrad on this particular functional food so I have a bit of info about it. It is no miracle food as some people would like to think, but is ok when consumed in moderation. Many that consumed excess amounts (over 3 tablespoons daily) had tummy troubles–think a pepto commercial! It can be used as a laxative, so be careful. Because flaxseed can help speed things along, the body may not absorb some vitamins and nutrients when used excessively. Some consume to help prevent cancer, but the verdict is still out on that. A few researchers believe that because it acts as an estrogen in can take the place of normal body estrogens and decrease cancer. Of course more research is needed.
Others believe it can help prevent heart disease, but once again studies contradict each other and more need to be done.

My word of advice: consume in moderation!

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

