Crock Pot Charro Beans

Crock Pot Charro Beans by Karen Serna

 

Ingredients:

3 c dried pinto beans

2 cans rotel tomatoes

1 Tablespoon garlic powder (or 1 fresh clove)

3 Tablespoons cumin

1/2 Tablespoon salt (or to taste)

1 Large handful of fresh cilantro (more the merrier!)

Soak beans in water for several hours.  Add water if needed after soaking (beans should be covered by water plus 1/4 inch.  Add indredients and cook on low until beans are soft (could take all night or day), and add water when needed.

 

I love beans. Love Love Love them!  However, I can’t cook a pot of beans to save my life. I’ve tried every way that I can think of…on the stove…in the crockpot…you name it, but they still don’t turn out right. I’ve put all the ingredients in at the beginning and still no luck. I’ve waited until an hour or so before they should have been done and still nothing.  When somebody willing offers to make beans I jump on it and eat my fill.  They’re a great, well rounded food that is Full of fiber, vitamins, and yumminess!  My grandmother seems to think that I can’t cook beans because we have soft water.  The verdict still isn’t out about my inability as bean chef so I’ll keep trying.

I will attempt to make this, so be on the lookout for my version of Charro Beans along with pictures.  Do you have a favorite bean recipe?  Tips on how I can actually make a good pot of beans?  What dishes do you put beans in?

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

