Whole Grains

We don’t eat white bread in our house. My husband will occasionally purchase french bread, but he eats that with grapes and cheese.  I buy whole wheat pasta, whole wheat bread, and try for whole wheat crackers, but I try to stay away from white breads as much as possible.  My husband throws a fit over my brown rice, but he’ll eventually turn around 🙂  My son knows no different. He gets whole wheat products and thinks that is perfectly normal. However, they do taste different. A few months ago we went to my in-laws, and they carry white bread for the grandkids and my son had 3 pieces, back to back.  He doesn’t eat my whole wheat bread like that at home. Hmmmm. So, am I carrying white bread? Certainly not.  Whole grains have many benefits.  These listed below are according to www.wholegrainscouncil.org

The main benefits of whole grains

The benefits of whole grains most documented by repeated studies include:

  • stroke risk reduced 30-36%
  • type 2 diabetes risk reduced 21-30%
  • heart disease risk reduced 25-28%
  • better weight maintenance

Other benefits indicated by recent studies include:

  • reduced risk of asthma
  • healthier carotid arteries
  • reduction of inflammatory disease risk
  • lower risk of colorectal cancer
  • healthier blood pressure levels
  • less gum disease and tooth loss

 

Hmmm whole grains it is. My son doesn’t remember the white bread he had months ago, he still eats whole grain spaghetti noodles!

About healthyfitsam

I'm a wife and a mother of two who is trying to "green" up our house and help us become healthier individuals. I'm working on my bachelors in nutrition and then it is off to become a Registered Dietitian. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it is approaching fast! I love sharing my knowledge with others about little things I find out, so stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole Grains

  1. sara says:

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

